Draft Schedule for SWEN433, 2020

This is a draft schedule and is subject to changes.
Week Date Topics
Mandatory Readings Deadlines
1 Tue, 14 Jul IntroductionWIS_W01_introduction.pdf    
Thu, 16 Jul Web Information Systems WIS_W02_Architecture.pdf Paper report 1
2 Tue, 21 Jul Web Services WIS_W03_Web_services.pdf Paper report 2
Thu, 23 Jul

Group Discussion 1: The REST battle

WIS_GD1.pdf

GroupDiscussion1_summary.pdf

Paper report 3

Paper report 4

Discussion summary 1

3 Tue, 28 Jul Web Data Management WIS_W04_Web_data_design.pdf

Paper report 5

Thu, 30 Jul Web Data Management
WIS_W05_Web_data_replication.pdf
Paper report 6
4 Tue, 4 Aug Web Data Management
WIS_W06_Big_data.pdf
Paper report 7
Thu, 6 Aug Group Discussion 2: The CAP battle

WIS_GD2_CAP.pdf
Groupdiscussion2_summary.pdf

Paper report 8

Discussion summary 2

5 Tue, 11 Aug NoSQL Data Stores WIS_W07_NoSQL.pdf
Paper report 9
Thu 13 Aug
Cloud Data Management WIS_W08_Cloud.pdf
Paper report 10
Mid-trimester break 17 - 30 Aug
6 Mon, 31 Aug

Group Discussion 3: The NoSQL battle WIS_GD3.pdf

Paper report 11

Paper report 12

Discussion summary 3

Tue, 1 Sept Lecture revision WIS_W09_revision.pdf    
Thu 3 Sept Test    
7 Mon, 7 Sept

Presentation 1 (by: Nevin, Charlotte, James)

(chair: Bryan and Matt)

Peer review 1

Tue, 8 Sept


Presentation 2 (by: Nathan, Dylan, Armaan)

(chair: Nevin, Charlotte, James)

Peer review 2
Thu, 10 Sept

Presentation 3 (by: Lavanya and Lana)

(chair: Nathan, Dylan, Armaan)

Peer review 3
8 Mon, 14 Sept

Presentation 4 (by: Reily and Amber)

(chair: Lavanya and Lana)

Peer review 4
Tue, 15 Sept Presentation 5 ( by: Yu, Yongbo, Yao)
(chair: Reily and Amber)
Peer review 5
Thu, 17 Sept Presentation 6 (by: Olivia, James and Annisha)
(chair: Yu, Yongbo, Yao)
Peer review 6
9 Mon, 21 Sept Presentation 7: (by: Harsh, Martin, and Varun)
(chair: Olivia, James and Annisha)
Peer review 7
Tue, 22 Sept Presentation 8: (by: Nick, Kaan, and Maxwell )
(chair: Harsh, Martin, and Varun)
Peer review 8
Thu, 24 Sept Presentation 9: (by: Hyunwoo, William and Zheng)
(chair: Nick, Kaan, and Maxwell )
Peer review 9
10 Mon, 28 Sept Presentation 10 (by: Ashnit, Zihan and Jack via Zoom)
(chair: Sherif and Lachlan)
Peer review 10
Tue, 29 Sept Presentation 11 (by: Sherif and Lachlan)
(chair: Ashnit, Zihan and Jack)
Peer review 11
Thu, 1 Oct Presentation 12 (by: Christian and Muchengeti)
(chair: Hyunwoo William and Zheng)
Peer review 12
11 Mon, 5 Oct Presentation 13 (by: Bryan and Matt)
(chair: Christian and Muchengeti)

Peer review 13

Assignment 4-Essay Due

Tue, 6 Oct Final lecture:  

Thu, 8 Oct      
12 Mon, 12 Oct      
Tue, 13 Oct