[CatSIG] ALCTS webinar: The New CIP Data Block: How To Use It For Cataloging

Joanne Rowan jf.rowan at auckland.ac.nz
Tue Sep 29 08:23:39 NZDT 2015


*Apologies in advance for multiple postings.*

ALCTS webinar: The New CIP Data Block: How To Use It For Cataloging

Date: Wednesday, October 14, 2015

All webinars are one hour in length and begin at 11am Pacific, noon Mountain, 1pm Central, and 2pm Eastern time.

Description: In July 2015 the Library of Congress will implement a new layout to the Cataloging in Publication Data Block which appears on the verso of the title page of print books and on the Copyright page of electronic books. The new layout is the result of an analysis of survey results done in 2014 that asked institutions what should be kept, added, or removed from the CIP Data Block to meet the needs of the twenty-first century bibliographic environment. There are numerous changes to the layout including the use of labels to clearly identify the different components within the block, addition of RDA and electronic data elements, and a URL that links directly to the LC catalog for easy download of bibliographic records. This webinar will introduce attendees to the new CIP Data Block, including instruction on how to interpret the elements of the Data Block for cataloging purposes.

Learning outcomes: Attendees will become familiar with the CIP Data Block, be informed of its data elements, and learn how to use it to create catalog records.

Who should attend? Catalogers in smaller libraries, particularly school, public, small college/community college, small special, and other libraries where the CIP Data Block is still referred to for creation of bibliographic records.

Presenters:

Karl Debus-Lopez is the Chief of the U.S. Programs, Law, and Literature Division at the Library of Congress.

Caroline Saccucci is the Dewey Program Manager and Acting Program Manager of the Cataloging in Publication Program.

*****************

Registration Fees:  ALCTS Member $43 ; Non-member $59 ; Group rate
(members/non-members) $99/$129 ; International $43

For additional information and access to registration links, please go to the following website:

http://www.ala.org/alcts/confevents/upcoming/webinar/101415

ALCTS webinars are recorded and registrants receive a link to the recording shortly following the live event.

For questions about registration, contact ALA Registration by calling
1-800-545-2433 and press 5 or email registration at ala.org <about:blank>. For all other questions or comments related to the webinars, contact Julie Reese, ALCTS Events Manager at 1-800-545-2433, ext. 5034 or alctsce at ala.org.

Posted on behalf of the ALCTS Continuing Education Committee.



More information about the CatSIG mailing list